Ten-Minute Play Festival

Feb 09, 2017 to Feb 12, 2017
Theatre B
Thursday, February 9, 2017 - 8:00pm
Friday, February 10, 2017 - 8:00pm
Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 8:00pm
Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 2:00pm
Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 2:00pm


The University of Iowa Department of Theatre Arts is proud to present the 20th Annual Ten-Minute Play Festival. Join us for the premiere of these undergraduate playwright’s new works!

Performances of productions will take place on February 9, 10, 11 at 8:00 p.m. and February 12 at 2:00 p.m. in Theatre B. Readings will take place on February 11 at 2:00 p.m.


Fire from the Heart of Man
By Benjamin Sulzberger
Directed by Clara Reynen

When George undergoes an experimental treatment for his Alzheimer's, he discovers what truly makes him who he is.

Cast Members for Fire from the Heart of Man
Old George Adam Koob
George Liam Crawford
Joanna Amy Evans
Professor/Doctor Ashley Lapointe

By Malcom Queneau
Directed by Michael Hamlett

A science fiction procedural.

Cast Members for Maintenance
Dwight Andrew Berger
Liam Sammi Shane
Petunia Alexis Healey
Alex Janita Pegram
Jared Brian Canchola

Spirit of Communication
By Abigail Kahl
Directed by Gracey Murphy

A Ouija board helps two roommates learn to communicate with one another.

Cast Members for Spirit of Communication
Aiden Noah Bryant
Wesley James Geneser

By Eileen Campbell
Directed by Laura Townsend

Oblong eats his pet fish. Over crosswords, poetry, and trauma, he and his best pal Norris figure out how to deal with that.

Cast Members for Release
Oblong Adam Koob
Norris Sen Scherb

By Sarah Bridgeport
Directed by Tessa Stahlhut

Narrators are the ones who tell stories for a reason. What happens when they're given their own?

Cast Members for Storytellers
Narrator 1 Leo Gibson
Narrator 2 Serena Collins
Steve Johnathan Goldstein
Carol Hannah Frame

The Intersection Between Organized Crime and Happy Couples
By Connett Croghan
Directed by Lyn-z Harney

A Good Ole Fashioned Rom-Com ... Sort of?

Cast Members for The Intersection Between Organized Crime and Happy Couples
Michael Zach Rigdon
Sarah Claire Williams
Miles Jason Grobstich


Grappling by Elin Dejus
Harambe by Jacob Prall
Hero’s Chance by Sophie Katz
The Highway by Allan Zeng
Memories by Jeremy Friedman
Terraform by Alyssa Cokinis


Artistic Team

Artistic Team for the 10 Minute Play Festival
Producer Micah Ariel James
Scenic Designer Clarice Kelling
Lighting Designer Merric Bower
Stage Manager Lindsey Francisco
Assistant Stage Manager Megan Wynn


Tickets for Gallery Productions are available in the Theatre lobby one hour before showtime.
Tickets are $5 for non-students and free for University of Iowa students with a valid ID.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the Department of Theatre Arts in advance at 319.335.2700.