The Pirate Queen poster image

The Pirate Queen

May 05, 2017
G. Flores
Directed by: 
Lukas Brasherfons
David Thayer Theatre
Friday, May 5, 2017 - 5:30pm
Friday, May 5, 2017 - 9:00pm


Against the backdrop of WWII, a movie-star is injured, and the studio must scramble to recast the lead in their latest high-seas swashbuckler. But bringing together a roster of star-actresses (and arming them with swords) turns out to have deeper and more far-reaching implications than Hollywood could have ever imagined.

This production contains adult language and violence.


Cast Members for The Pirate Queen
Role Name
Eva Caitlin Rose Edwards
Evelyn Marda Rude
Brenz Miles Gatrell
Stan Zach Twardowski
Miranda Rubina Vidal
Kate Catie Councell
Josephine Emelia Asiedu
Lucy Jessica Wade

Artistic Team

Artistic Team for The Pirate Queen
Title Name
Playwright G. Flores
Director Lukas Brasherfons
Dramaturg Alison Ruth
Scenic Designer Nic Wilson
Costume Designer Hayley Ryan
Lighting Designer Ellen Kane
Sound Designer G. Flores
Fight Choreographer Lukas Brasherfons
Stage Manager Aubrey Near
Assistant Stage Manager Adam Koob

Ticket Information

Tickets for Iowa New Play Festival productions are $5 for non-students and free for UI students (with a valid ID). They are available one hour before show time in the Theatre Building lobby or during Festival Box Office Hours on Monday, May 1 and Tuesday, May 2 from 12:00 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Link to Iowa New Play Festival homepage.

Link to Iowa New Play Festival 2017 full schedule.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the Department of Theatre Arts in advance at 319.335.2700.